The Herzogsburg, which dates back to the first half of the 15th Century, has been in use as a town history museum since 1959. Its elaborately structured façade makes this building the number-one eye-catcher of Dingolfing’s Upper Town ("Obere Stadt"). It received its name during the advent of historical research in the 19th Century. At the beginning, the building’s ground floor was used as the office of the granary keeper, the attic as a granary, and the first floor as a representation area, especially for the duke and his high-ranking guests. Emperor Friedrich III once lodged here in 1475 while on his way back from the Landshut Royal Wedding ("Landshuter Hochzeit") to his residence Linz. During the course of the reformation and reorganization of offices, the Kastenhof and the neighboring "Pfleghof" were
both sold off in 1603. In 1956 the heritage-protected building
was bought by the City of Dingolfing, and the local history museum established within its perimeter.
Between 1997 and 1999 the building was renovated, and the exhibition completely redesigned.
Dingolfing’s local history, from the late Neolithic all the way to the most recent past, is aptly showcased by more
than 1,500 exhibits.